What I saw on eBay! “The sad side of collecting…..losing an auction”

You know there is something that has always been me since the beginning of ebay…and even beyond at Christies and Bonhams of London. There comes a time that no matter how smart you are, how much money you have and how much work you put into researching an item, your going to lose it just because someone bids more than you.

This week is a classic example of this with both the Fozzie Bear at Phillip Weiss and the following item from “Stargate Universe”…a show in truth I have never watched the entire episode of. I just really enjoyed the idea of having the Captains chair in my house…especially since it lit up!

Again…sadly I didn’t win it. Who knows why? Many times I have put $600 into ebay and won at $100, sometimes right to the wire. I don’t like costing people extra money at all…never have. Its just the game I guess we play.

This was a pick up only item at VIP auctions just down the road from me so it would have been nice to see there location. I had a truck sorted too because who wants to pay $1,000 for crating a shipping I thought.

private listing – bidders’ identities protected    US $1,334.97
Jan-26-12 14:42:23 PST
  private listing – bidders’ identities protected    US $1,309.97
Jan-26-12 14:42:23 PST
  private listing – bidders’ identities protected    US $1,212.12
Jan-26-12 14:42:22 PST

I bid by hand…not snipewear….

In the meantime I will console myself that every single person reading this has been in the same boat I have been…its just it happens on a weekly basis to me. Always a competitor…not always a winner….plenty of gold medals though…..(laughs!)

Leave a Reply

